Stuff I’ve been reading.

I’m still working on whittling down that TBR pile that is threatening to get out of control (even if most of the books are digital, it still makes me anxious) :). Here are a couple I’ve read so far this year.

#1: Tales From the Clerks, by Kevin Smith

tales-from-the-clerks

Collects the contents from the Clerks, Chasing Dogma and Bluntman & Chronic books together with one new story and a 15-page, never before reprinted story.


 

Recently, Steve and I re-watched all the View Askew-niverse movies and it motivated me to finally read this collection of related comic book stories we’ve had on our shelf for a while (since 2009 — he’d read it, I hadn’t).

I enjoyed the stories featuring Dante and Randal the most, but the whole book had funny parts. If you’re a fan of this stuff, you’ll pretty much know what to expect but honestly, as Steve warned me when I started reading, “That’s a lot of Kevin Smith.” He was right; the raunchiness wore on me after a while. I’d recommend spacing the reading out over time!

#2: The Secret History of Twin Peaks, by Mark Frost

secret-history-of-twin-peaks_small

From the co-creator of the landmark series, the story millions of fans have been waiting to get their hands on for 25 long years.

The Secret History of Twin Peaks enlarges the world of the original series, placing the unexplained phenomena that unfolded there into a vastly layered, wide-ranging history, beginning with the journals of Lewis and Clark and ending with the shocking events that closed the finale. The perfect way to get in the mood for the upcoming Showtime series.


 

This book isn’t old at all. I got it for Christmas from Steve :). But, hey, it still needed to be read!

This book wasn’t at all what I was expecting (not sure what exactly I was expecting, but not this) but I really enjoyed it. It is supposed to replicate a found “dossier” of documents explaining the history of Twin Peaks, and I thought the lay-out and style were very cool. I tore through it. I’m quite psyched for the new season of TP, especially after reading this; too bad it won’t air until May!

Happy reading,

Elizabeth

PS: I’ve decided to discontinue the #MinsGame posts.

Why? Because after only a couple of days in, I remembered something about myself — the fact that I do not like to edit photos.

I couldn’t see myself editing all of those pictures, just so I could post them, particularly since they are photos of things I got rid of because I was tired of looking at them :). Ha. Also, the point of my decluttering those items was so that I could be done with them! I didn’t want to dwell on my old things any longer than necessary. So that’s the end of that project :).

 

 

Leave a Reply

