October, 2015 horror movie round-up

Last year I wrote up a top ten list of the best horror movies S and I watched during our annual horror movie challenge. I’d planned to do that again this year but…unfortunately, this time around we didn’t watch too many that I enjoyed very much :(.

There were a few highlights, though:

8) The Butterfly Room

This story was pretty different and interesting, but I think what made watching it especially fun was seeing so many horror icons together in one movie:  Barbara Steele, Heather Langenkamp, P.J. Soles, Adrienne King, Ray Wise, etc.

7) Someone’s Watching Me!

This was made for TV (and is perhaps more of a thriller than a horror movie), but it’s interesting and worth a watch, particularly if you’re a John Carpenter fan; this is one of his earliest films.

6) Dolly Dearest

I remember always seeing the box art for this movie at the video store, but I’d never actually seen the film itself. It’s basically a Child’s Play rip-off, but it was entertaining (a lot more so than some of the other stuff we watched during the month) and I really appreciated that. Plus, it has Lt. Yar from “Star Trek TNG” in it!

5) Tusk

Kevin Smith’s body-horror movie about a man with a dark secret involving a walrus. The story line was pretty twisted, but I enjoyed all the humor in it.

4) Exists

A found-footage movie about Bigfoot! Made near where I live! I was really excited to see this, as I have really enjoyed every movie by Eduardo Sanchez that I’ve ever seen. It didn’t disappoint. And Sanchez may officially now be one of my favorite directors.

3) Crimson Peak

I have a thing for haunted house/ghost stories (even though they are all pretty similar) and this is probably one of the best I’ve seen. The visuals are just gorgeous. Plus, I was sick as a dog (not contagious) when we went to see it and it took my mind off my misery for a while. I was truly grateful!

2) We Are Still Here

“In the cold, wintry fields of New England, a lonely old house wakes up every thirty years – and demands a sacrifice.” Another haunted house movie. Stylistically, this reminded me a bit of House of the Devil, another movie I liked a lot. This was just straight-up old-fashioned horror (with great, gory makeup effects) and I enjoyed the heck out of it.

1) Last Shift

This was the second-to-last movie we watched during the month and by this point, I was pretty tired and losing hope. But this perked me up again. It is the story of a rookie cop covering the last shift in an empty police station (i.e. having the worst night at work EVER) and it is genuinely creepy in many places.

Last but not least…we also always try to include at least a few perennial favorites in the mix, too, to ensure that we see at least some stuff we know we’ll like. This year we re-watched: Re-Animator, Suspiria, The Amityville Horror, and Ghostbusters. And they were all still awesome :).

Hope you enjoyed your Halloween!

Elizabeth

One thought on “October, 2015 horror movie round-up

Leave a Reply

