Two birds with one (Silver)stone.

DSCF3557

My quest to read through my TBR pile continues!

I’ve had The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone since 2010 and while I had skimmed it before, I had never read it all the way through. I think I was intimidated by it. At first glance the recipes just seemed a little too hardcore for me. So I stuck the book on a shelf and just sort of ignored it for…oh, five years.

One of my New Year’s resolutions this year, however, was to read a book about veganism and since I already had this one, I decided to give it a fair shot. I’m glad I did! It was a good read, very informative and inspiring. While I am still not ready to commit to becoming a full-on vegan, I feel like I can at least try to eat that way a lot more of the time.

So far I have tried two of Alicia’s recipes: Sweet Potato-Lentil Stew (page 166) and Sicilian Collard Greens with Raisins and Pine Nuts (page 176). I liked them both, although the stew recipe made a TON. I ate left-overs for days and still wasn’t able to finish it all :(. So yeah, I will make it again some time but probably only half the recipe. The photo above shows some of the leftovers served over brown rice. This was my first time cooking collards and I have to say they were pretty tasty!

Now I can cross a resolution off my list AND knock another title off my TBR pile. Win-win!

Speaking of the TBR pile…I’ve made some decent progress since first posting about my (crazy) dream of getting down to five TBR*:

  • May was not such a great month — I bought 10 books. BUT — I read 5 of them right away (as well as 3 others that I already had).
  • In June I bought 2 books and read one right away (as well as 4 older ones and one of the 5 new purchases I’d had left over from the end of May).
  • In July I’ve bought 6 books (2 of which I’m not counting as TBRs because I have already read them before and only bought them because the e-book editions were super cheap and I wanted to have them). Of the remaining, I read 1 and just started another. So that leaves 2 additions to the TBR pile this month. BUT I also read 6 more titles from my TBR pile!

*Bottom line:  I’ve bought approximately 38 books this year and read 52. Not great, but at least the numbers are moving in the right direction :). And yes, I realize that this (having too many books to read) is a pretty cushy “problem” to have. I’m not really complaining, just trying to remind myself to use and appreciate what I already have, and to be intentional about how and what I buy in the future!

Leave a Reply

