City of Glass

On Tuesdays, I post a bit about what I’ve been reading lately.

City of Glass 1Last week, I finished City of Glass by Cassandra Clare.

To liven up my photo of the book, I decided to put it alongside two things that make me think of Texas (where I live):  potato chips from Schlotzsky’s and an HEB diet soda. In Lubbock (where I’m from) they do not have HEB (*gasp* — I know!) So I didn’t discover its fabulousness until after I got married and we moved to Houston. Now I am a huge fan, of course. And I have been drinking Diet Coke for years and I honestly think the HEB brand of diet soda tastes better. This is cool for me, considering how much less it costs than Diet Coke. And yes, I realize the cheapest (and healthiest) thing for me to do would be to quit drinking soda altogether, but…so far, I have not done that. So. Yeah. We all have our vices :).

As for the clothespin in the photo…I have this bad habit of not finishing my chips when I go to a sandwich restaurant. So I often bring them home and close the bag with a clothespin. Then I eat ’em later. And, uh, apparently I sometimes take a picture of it :).

Funny (by which I mean terrifying) story about this photo: I moved outside to take it because the lighting was better and only after I’d been out there for a while did I notice the wasp’s nest stuck to a chair, with all the wasps crawling all over it — not unlike the way my skin crawled when I saw that :(. I may have screamed. Just a little. But I took the picture anyway, grabbed up my stuff and then ran back inside! Ah, the joys of summer-time.

So…this post was not really about City of Glass after all, was it? But what can I say about a book almost everyone but me has already read, anyway? Y’all already know it’s good :)!

Happy reading (and snacking. And not being stung by wasps),

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

