The Velvet Room, etc.

On Tuesdays, I post a bit about what I’m currently reading.

A few years ago, I was sort of on an Alan Moore kick (I still love him, BTW). I asked S for From Hell for Christmas and got it…but then I never read it! I think I was intimidated by how way long it is (572 pages!). But I resolved to read it this year, and finally started it yesterday.

from hell cropped

I’m also reading these two:

The Velvet Room by Zilpha Keatley Snyder

So far, this is cute and a page-turner. I doubt it will take me long to finish it; it’s pretty short.

Velvet Room

Happy Wives Club: One Woman’s Worldwide Search for the Secrets of a Great Marriage by Fawn Weaver

I don’t really read many articles on the HWC blog, but I like the idea of the club. As Fawn states on the club’s ‘about’ page, there often seems to be a lot of negativity (in the media and culture in general) surrounding the concept of marriage and as someone who loves being married, it’s nice to read positive things about being a wife!

Happy Wives Club

Both of these titles are from my digital TBR pile, which grew quite large in 2014 (because I bought a ton of books). I really hope to whittle that list down this year. Seems daunting, but I wound up finishing 8 books in January! If I can keep that up, it will be fantastic and I may actually have a chance.

Earlier today I read about the concept of “binge reading,” (vs. “binge watching” TV shows). I think this is what I have been doing. But books are one of the few things it’s perfectly okay to binge on, IMO :).

Happy reading,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

