City of Bones

It’s Tuesday; time to write a little about the books I’m currently reading. Not really a review, mind you; just a quick recap!

I finally finished reading City of Bones over the weekend. I’d seen the movie adaptation of this a few months back and thought it was okay, but I doubt it would have convinced me to run out and get the book if I hadn’t already owned it. I HAD already bought the book, though, so I went ahead and read it. I’m so glad I did, too, because I enjoyed it a lot! I love vampires and werewolves (especially werewolves) and demon hunters and stuff. And I really like Cassandra Clare’s writing style. I admire the light, deft way she handles exposition, and the detailed way she describes things. And of course the characters are lovely :).

I’ve already got the next two books in this series and I’m sure I will read them at some point. I’m just a bit daunted by the fact that there are two MORE sequels after that, plus the three prequels…It feels like I’m already in the middle of SO many YA series and will never finish or catch up. Makes me a little antsy to think about it, honestly :(.

Anyway, now I’m re-reading Dracula. I’d planned to read this in October (because I’ve been wanting to for a while now and October just seems like a good time to read a vampire novel) but that didn’t happen, so I’m just now getting to it. For the occasion, I pulled out my sweet movie tie-in paperback copy from the 1990s. It includes “8 pages of photos from the magnificent new motion picture.” And yes, that is a matching bookmark! Jealous ;)?

DSCF2859

I also have this other Dracula tie-in bookmark that looks like vampire teeth, which is even cooler. Good for reading vampire books in general.

DSCF2868

I hadn’t remembered I’d highlighted in this book for some reason-? Normally I don’t do that. Some of the highlighted passages seem to be lines that are in the Francis Ford Coppola movie, but not all of them are. So I guess they were just random things I liked-? Who knows. It was the ’90s. And I was a weird kid.

DSCF2861

Happy reading!

Elizabeth

One thought on “City of Bones

Leave a Reply

