Food waste, recycling, and Oatmeal Chocolate Chewies

FoodWasteFriday

Happy Halloween!

This is my favorite holiday of the year, and yet I don’t own very many Halloween decorations. Huh. What decorations we do have, I didn’t even bother to bring out this year! Oh, well. I do plan on making a Jack-o-lantern pizza for dinner tonight. If it turns out, there will be pictures.

Speaking of pictures…I didn’t take any of my food waste this week, but I will report it anyway. A few days ago I tossed out a bit of bagged lettuce that’d gone south (surprise, surprise) and as I write this there are three aging pieces of pizza and some moldy tortillas sitting in my fridge, awaiting eviction. Yum :(.

On the subject of waste (sorta)…In the last neighborhood I lived in, recyclables had to be sorted before they could be collected, and there was no curbside recycling offered. We had to take all of our stuff to a recycling center. That was in a different city. Here, there is a recycling bin on the premises (I live in an apartment) and we are allowed to put all of our recyclables into it. I’d never heard of “single-stream” recycling before (it’s possible I don’t get out much) and was curious about it. This morning I finally looked it up and was enlightened by this little animated video I found on the Atlantic website, all about MRFs — Material Recovery Facilities. If you, like me, are a nerd who likes knowing how things work, and if you don’t already know all this stuff, you might enjoy watching this, too.

This article about the pros and cons of washing recyclables is also interesting. I wash or at least rinse all of mine, but that’s mostly so they won’t stink up my kitchen. Now I know there are other good reasons to do it, too!

___________

In more appetizing news, here are the cookies I made last week. This is another recipe from the Betty Crocker cookbook, Oatmeal Chocolate Chewies. Very, very easy and tasted so good! Past tense. Because we’ve already eaten all of them.

DSCF2822

DSCF2823

Have a wonderful weekend!

Elizabeth

