Confessions of an Organized Homemaker

On Tuesdays, I plan to write a little about the books I’m currently reading. These will not really be reviews per se, as I’m not a good review-er, but more like short recaps…

I recently signed up for an Amazon Prime membership. The free shipping alone makes it worth it to me, but it’s cool that they offer some other perks, too, like once-a-month free book loans from the Kindle Lending Library. Last week I borrowed my first book, Confessions of an Organized Homemaker: The Secrets of Uncluttering Your Home and Taking Control of Your Life, by Deniece Schofield. I hadn’t planned on reading anything else right now, as I’m already in the middle of City of Bones (and loving it), but I saw this title mentioned someplace and…what can I say, it’s hard for me to pass up books (or articles or blog posts) about decluttering and home organization! And then I saw it was available to borrow, so I sort of had to get it :).

This quote stood out to me:

As a young bride, I was keenly interested in my new job of homemaker. I had a real desire to raise my level of efficiency and have our home run like a well-oiled machine. I knew how to manage an office and I wanted our home to run just as effectively.

I’d have to say I approach homemaking in a similar fashion — as seriously as any job. This is sort of amusing to me, since growing up, I had absolutely no interest in cooking, cleaning, or anything else remotely domestic. As a result, I learned next to nothing about those things at home. And I lived in squalor. Just kidding. Sorta. Anyway, then I moved out on my own and found I actually enjoyed taking care of my own little space, preparing meals for myself, etc. It got even better once I had S living with me and I could cook and clean for him, too. If you’d told me when I was a kid that one day I’d be so into organizing and keeping my house tidy, I’d have laughed at you — from somewhere deep in the recesses of my cluttered-to-the-ceiling bedroom, of course. But now here I am, a minimalist who eschews junk and strives to keep things clean and simple, and who is always looking for ways to improve the management of my home…

Confessions of an Organized Homemaker offers a lot of useful information to that end, and I’ll probably give some of Mrs. Schofield’s ideas a try. For instance, I’m (admittedly inordinately) excited to start one of her meal-planning databases that will hopefully help me plan my weekly meals faster and easier. I’ll probably do it in an Excel file, though, rather than on the notebook paper she recommends.

That’s my only criticism of this book: although the copyright page says it’s from 2008, it seems older than that to me. It seems to have been written prior to the advent of many organizational gadgets available nowadays. And I can’t help thinking that a lot of the author’s “home planning notebook” ideas could now be implemented online, or using smartphone apps. Although, the more I consider it, the more I think some things are probably better done on paper. At least for me, anyway. Because I am a bit too familiar with the “lost time” phenomenon associated with doing things strictly online. If I’m not careful, looking for one recipe can turn into an hour (or more) lost to clicking on random cool-looking links. Not likely to happen with a paper recipe file, I guess!

One thought on “Confessions of an Organized Homemaker

Comments are closed.