My first Food Waste Friday post

FoodWasteFriday

Food waste is a big problem.

About a third of all food grown around the world never gets eaten. Americans alone waste up to about 1,200 calories per person each day.

In an effort to combat food waste in her own home, The Frugal Girl keeps track of (and blogs about) all the food she throws out each week. I think this is a great idea. I’m a bit reluctant to try it out myself, though, because I know some weeks I am really terrible about this and throw away what feels like a ton of stuff. Buuut…since the whole point of “Food Waste Friday” is accountability with the goal of improvement, I am going to give it a go.

Here’s a picture of everything I tossed out when I cleaned my refrigerator yesterday.

DSCF2826

Not pretty, I know :(.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the bags of spinach and salad became a recurring theme in these posts. I almost always have issues with them getting yucky before we can finish them!

The foil-covered can had some diced green chilies in it, left over from a couple of recipes I made earlier in the month. The Ziploc container held some old pineapple tidbits I never got around to eating (and no longer trusted). The Ranch dressing was expired. We stopped eating it a while ago, since I’ve been trying to move away from eating bottled dressings in favor of making my own, but still – that was a lot of dressing to get rid of. At least the bits of tomato and green pepper I threw away were pretty tiny. Here’s hoping next week is better!!

Elizabeth

