Recent Lunch Snacks

My husband takes his lunch to work almost every day. Since it’s become a goal of mine to make more of our food from scratch, I’ve bought fewer prepackaged snacks and begun baking more things to pack for him. Here are a few recipes I’ve tried recently.

Egg-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies. Neither of us has egg allergies, but the alternate ingredient in these is cream cheese, and I had half a package (plus an open bag of chocolate chips) in my fridge I wanted to use up, so it worked out nicely. The cheese gives the cookies a unique, almost tangy taste that I really like. It was the second time I’ve made them and I’m sure I will again.

The following week I made two loaves of chocolate chip pumpkin bread, using a can of pumpkin I’d had sitting in my pantry for who knows how long, and some more of the aforementioned chocolate chips.

022

023This recipe came from the Betty Crocker Cookbook my MIL gave me when I was first married. I’ve been making serious efforts to downsize my belongings in recent years and have divested myself of many cookbooks, but this one’s a keeper. I use it quite often! The pumpkin bread recipe is tried-and-true, as are so many others. One loaf of this bread went straight into the freezer for later and we ate the other throughout the week.

Last week’s treat was Trail Mix Cookies. I found this recipe on Pinterest (of course :)) and appreciated it both because it was super easy to whip up, and because I already had all of the ingredients for it sitting in my pantry and fridge.

DSCF2783

I love recipes that use up odds and ends! For these, I was able to use up 1/3 cup of raisins, 1/3 cup chocolate chips (eventually I WILL empty that entire bag; I have faith) and for the other third I mixed sunflower seeds, chopped pecans, and sliced almonds. We eat natural peanut butter on our sandwiches, but I had some “regular” PB, too, left over from some Pad Thai experiments, so I used that. Also, I cut the brown sugar down to 2/3 cup. I figured these would probably be plenty sweet, what with the peanut butter, chocolate chips, and raisins, and I was right. They turned out pretty tasty! Honestly, I was a tad skeptical they’d turn out at all when I first saw the super-oily dough, but I was pleased with how pretty and appetizing the finished product turned out. Refrigerating the dough before baking it really is key to helping these keep their shape.

DSCF2787I’m not sure yet what the next treat I bake will be, but I’m hoping to find some more relatively healthy recipes…part of the beauty of making and taking your own lunch is the low cost, of course, but the other is having control over what goes into the food!

Elizabeth

